RSS

10 widows, a house, a Sun Oven & a Sheep

31 Aug

Some of you know by now I work with a ministry, a small one, making a big impact in African villages. The story is incredible. It’s God breathed, no doubt. If you know me, you know I love Jesus. This story is confirmation that there is a God, and that He loves us, and is the source of Hope. All hope, all good things and everything anyone needs to be fulfilled.

It started with me when Erica O’Grady & I took a trip to San Marcos to see some people in the internet business, Daniel Guitierrez, & Diana Wiley. The last of these is where the story begins.

Erica & I got to Diana’s house in San Marcos at 1AM in the morning. I’m not sure why she drug me to this strangers house at 1AM, I was so worried that we were encroaching on her, surely she wanted to go to sleep, or something.

We got there, and they sat me down to watch this video. That’s only part of it, but it touched my heart so much, not knowing what I could do to help, but just knew I had to. Marc Nathan tells me repeatedly that and that I can’t keep helping them non-profits or I’ll starve. He has a very valid point.

So, I don’t know how I ended up getting involved, but “Bake the Cycle” came to me as their campaign name, after learning what they were doing in Rwanda with Solar Bakeries. Through 10 widows in Rwanda they were using enterprise to break the cycle of AIDS caused from the Genocide. The plan was so HUGE that there was no doubt in my heart it was God breathed. Talking with her, sounded like hearing myself talk. About “we’re going to do this, and this, and wait this ties into this, and then there’s this program, and these people do this, and then at the end of the day there will be people with food & no reason to prostitute themselves for money. Sounded like something that needed a person to spread the word. So I did a few things, got a video started, told a few people, did a radio program with them in League City, showed them how to upload vids & that’s about it.

Fast forward about 6 months to today. They’ve gone to Rwanda a second time, from June to July 2008. There’s a hurricane about to hit the gulf, and it’s the kids’ dad’s weekend and I’m tired of being around the same peeps, so I take a trip to see her. Literally with nothing left. Helping non-profits has not paid off for me. So WHY am I doing this? I have no idea.

What I see next is powerful. After going through about 30 hours of video, it was apparent to me that this message must reach the world. Through 10 widows need for housing, an entire community is changed forever, and they know who to give credit to, God. There is no question there. They know where all good comes. There’s nothing but gratitude now, not to Diana, but to God. That’s good, as people we all fall short of being perfect….it doesn’t stop the work that God does. Sam & Diana are absolutely incredible people, they listened and obeyed, despite not having anything but a vision from God. They’re called to run this mission on the ground.

I’m called to spread this message to all of you, and figure out a way to get it to the world. Purpose Media International will be producing a documentary. Today is the day to raise money to see that it’s high-quality and put together professionally. PMI also puts on the Christian Entertainment Festivals to raise money for Bake the Cycle.

All of the proceeds go to True Vineyard Ministries to carry out this mission. If you’d like to give, to make this thing happen, there’s this thing called Rule 181. Anyone that gives money to a motion picture or TV series, gets a write off and be part of something so much bigger than anything I’ve ever seen.

Here’s the result of last month’s trip, just by building a house, bringing a solar oven & a sheep. AMAZING.

This has been a life-changing experience for me, too.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2008 in Blogroll, life, media, network

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “10 widows, a house, a Sun Oven & a Sheep

  1. Pingback: Broken «

Leave a comment