RSS

Entertaining the Angels: Part 1

29 May

.Entertaining the Angels

Part 1
Do you know how we look to the Angels? Hilarious. Each day the stage is set. The camera is rolling and we are given our lines, scenes, make-up and wardrobe. The activities of each day define our choice of words, clothes and the route we take along the way. Predictably boring, to us. Not to them. Picture this. When I dress up and think I look all hot, it makes them laugh, hard. Actually, I’m certain it was me who started the “look cute when you work-out” style at my gym ten years ago. That fad is way over, but it still lives on. Now I’m starting the “Trecks-and-boardshorts” fad; as if Houstonians have any use for either one.

Yesterday, the real life Rocky Balboa walked into the gym to perform jump-down-spread’em jacks in front of me, bandana and all. At first I wondered if this person was intentionally sent to help me laugh again. He helped me giggle at myself, because I know that is exactly what people say about me. Then, I thought it was because of the light headedness from the ab work-out, when yesterday was “ab-day.”

At first I saw him and wondered if Aaron (trainer dude @lafitness) saw him as well. Aaron was brilliantly distracted by his own script with the how-to-use-the-not-so-hard-to-use tricep machine. I was completely impressed that he saw him and did not flinch. That confirmed that this person was sent for my sole entertainment. Just before my torture tricep session, “Eh, Rocky!” escaped my lips. By now, Aaron has had three whopping doses of my personality, and has become used to being the singular audience member of my one man show.

Laughter makes a workout seem fun. When the Real Rocky Balboa shows up on the set, it deserves a standing ovation. Attention must be drawn to this supporting actor, because he stole the show! He was awesome entertainment and I give him two thumbs up, so do the Angels. Even the lady in the sauna got a good laugh and me laughing. Now, laughing at me is easy, I have no choice. I’m free.

Oh man, my son just got sprayed in the face when he turned on the water hose. Classic. What matters most is he laughed at himself, too.

The whole chain of Hawaii got to laugh at me for a few seconds this week. I realized that when you are living, life is funny. We were advised to enjoy the activities at Kaua’i Team Challenge, a ropes and adventure course designed to help at-risk youth overcome tough obstacles. Once we forgot cameras existed, life happened. We worked as a team, having never met before. Watched couples lead one another through physically draining activities and learned about trusting strangers. Little did they know my daughters fifth birthday was at a Rock gym. I once had a fear of heights; it vanished on a skii lift – after I came downhill.

Honestly, I was excited to see what fears were left. It was the blind leading the blind. During the episode, I lead my blinded partner right into a tree. I thought “bark” would work; my parther thought otherwise. She related it to our previously decided command to turn right: ruff-ruff. Big miscommunication. We could not use words to clear the air. She must move forward into the unknown. We had no other choice. The least I could do was soften the blow. I put my hand where her head would hit the tree and gave the command for forward: chuga, chuga. The rest is history, and I snorted on cable television.

When designing our language, we did not consider a roadblock. We often rely on expert advice to help us through life. What if these trusted advisors do not see your roadblocks? When God speaks His language, we will run into some trees. He knows the roadblock and exactly how you will respond. He softens the blows and gives us time to laugh, learn, heal, and get up again.

For more entertainment, you can watch episode “KTC” on Inspiration Channel on the Hawaii cable network, http://oc16.tv.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
